Baby blanket, it must be done.

Now that I’ve finished my dish cloths and I can’t put it off any longer, it’s time to get started on the baby’s blanket. I’m 27 weeks pregnant now and I really need to get going with this so that I have enough time to finish it.

This is going to be my 3rd child and I’ve made blankets for my other two so I suppose I have to make one for this baby too. ;P
For my son, who is now 5, I made this…

Image

For my daughter, who just turned 2, I made this…

ImageImage

So at this point I’m getting quite tired of squares and I wanted to do something different, but what? :/

I have quite a collection of crochet book so I figured I might as well take my inspiration from there. In “The Crochet Bible” I was looking at textured stitches and this caught my eye.

Image

It’s called Multi-coloured tweed stitch. I love the way this pattern looks and I decided to make it in 100% cotton. I ended up picking some Cottonsoft DK by King Cole. This is what I got so far using the 3 colors I chose.

Image

I absolute love it! It will be a job to hide all those strings after (my pet peeve)!

But it sure is lovely!

Image

If you are interested in this pattern and lots of other great patterns like it you can get “The Crochet Bible” here.
I absolutely LOVE this book, it has sooo many great textured patterns in it.

 

 

Leave a comment